18 forgivable loans in 13 states. Forgivable loan: forgiven if you meet the terms. Each listing links to the official program page and shows when we last checked it.
Arizona Industrial Development Authority (Arizona IDA) · Arizona
- Amount
- Not verified — see source
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
City of Phoenix Housing Department · Arizona
- Amount
- Up to 10% of the purchase price, based on need
- First-time buyer
- Required (as defined by FHA)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Invest Atlanta · Georgia
- Amount
- Up to $20,000
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Illinois Housing Development Authority (IHDA) · Illinois
- Amount
- Up to $6,000
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC) · Kansas
- Amount
- 0% interest loan of 15 or 20% of the purchase price
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC) · Louisiana
- Amount
- 4% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Not required (may not own another residence at closing)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC) · Louisiana
- Amount
- 4% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Louisiana Housing Corporation (LHC) · Louisiana
- Amount
- Up to 20% of the purchase price (up to $55,000) plus up to $5,000 closing cost assistance
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency (NJHMFA) · New Jersey
- Amount
- Up to $15,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
State of New York Mortgage Agency (SONYMA) · New York
- Amount
- Greater of $3,000 or 3% of the purchase price (up to $15,000)
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development (HPD) · New York
- Amount
- Up to $100,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
North Carolina Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA) · North Carolina
- Amount
- $15,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (or military veteran, or buying in a targeted area)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
North Carolina Housing Finance Agency (NCHFA) · North Carolina
- Amount
- Up to 3% of the loan amount
- First-time buyer
- Not required (first-time and move-up buyers)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Ohio Housing Finance Agency (OHFA) · Ohio
- Amount
- 3% (conventional) or 3.5% (FHA, VA, USDA)
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA) · Pennsylvania
- Amount
- 5% of the lesser of purchase price or appraised value
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
South Carolina State Housing Finance and Development Authority (SC Housing) · South Carolina
- Amount
- 3% or 4% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Tennessee Housing Development Agency (THDA) · Tennessee
- Amount
- $6,000 or $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department · Texas
- Amount
- Up to $75,000, based on financial need
- First-time buyer
- Required (or no home owned in the last 3 years)
- Status
- Paused
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗