28 deferred loans in 18 states. Deferred loan: no payments until you sell, refinance or pay off. Each listing links to the official program page and shows when we last checked it.
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA) · California
- Amount
- Up to 20% of the purchase price, not to exceed $150,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Closed
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA) · California
- Amount
- Up to the lesser of 3.5% (FHA) or 3% (conventional) of the purchase price or appraised value
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
San Francisco Mayor's Office of Housing and Community Development (MOHCD) · California
- Amount
- Up to $500,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Los Angeles Housing Department (LAHD) · California
- Amount
- Up to $161,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (no ownership interest in the last three years)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
San Diego Housing Commission (SDHC) · California
- Amount
- Not verified — see source
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Colorado Housing and Finance Authority (CHFA) · Colorado
- Amount
- Up to the lesser of $25,000 or 4% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Delaware State Housing Authority (Housing Delaware) · Delaware
- Amount
- Zero-interest second mortgage equal to 3%, 4% or 5% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Required for Welcome Home; not required for Open Door
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Florida Housing Finance Corporation · Florida
- Amount
- Up to $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Florida Housing Finance Corporation · Florida
- Amount
- 5% of the first mortgage, minimum $10,000, maximum $35,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (first-time, income-qualified homebuyers)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation (HHFDC) · Hawaii
- Amount
- 4% of the first mortgage amount
- First-time buyer
- Required (no primary residence in 3 years; exceptions for veterans or targeted areas)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Illinois Housing Development Authority (IHDA) · Illinois
- Amount
- Up to $7,500
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development (Maryland Mortgage Program) · Maryland
- Amount
- $6,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
MassHousing · Massachusetts
- Amount
- Up to $30,000 (0% deferred) or up to $25,000 (2% or 3% 15-year amortizing)
- First-time buyer
- Required (income-eligible first-time homebuyer)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA) · Michigan
- Amount
- Up to $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Minnesota Housing · Minnesota
- Amount
- Up to $14,000 (Deferred Payment Loan Plus: up to $18,000)
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA) · Pennsylvania
- Amount
- 8% (loan amounts up to $150,000) or 5% (above $150,000) of the lesser of price or appraised value
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
South Dakota Housing (SDHDA) · South Dakota
- Amount
- 3% or 5% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) · Texas
- Amount
- 2% to 5% (subject to availability)
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
City of Dallas (administered by BCL of Texas) · Texas
- Amount
- Up to $60,000 in High Opportunity Areas; up to $50,000 elsewhere in Dallas
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Utah Housing Corporation (UHC) · Utah
- Amount
- 3.5% of the first mortgage, up to $27,500
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) · Vermont
- Amount
- Up to $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (never owned a home; under $20,000 combined liquid assets)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC) · Washington
- Amount
- 3%, 4% or 5% of the first mortgage
- First-time buyer
- Not required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC) · Washington
- Amount
- Up to $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Not required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC) · Washington
- Amount
- Up to $15,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (unless buying in a Targeted Area)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC) · Washington
- Amount
- Up to $15,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (or purchase in a Target Area)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Washington State Housing Finance Commission (WSHFC) · Washington
- Amount
- Up to $10,000
- First-time buyer
- Required (or purchase in a Target Area)
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority (WHEDA) · Wisconsin
- Amount
- Not verified — see source
- First-time buyer
- Not stated on source
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗
Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA) · Wyoming
- Amount
- Up to $15,000
- First-time buyer
- Required
- Status
- Offered
Last checked Oct 21, 2026 · Official source (opens in new tab) ↗